So today I have been thinking about the use of the ball at our Maus discussions. We, both sections, have officially decided to ditch the ball at the beginning of the year; however, it has made its triumphant return (coincidentally near the start of Major League Baseball) and has received mixed feelings from my classmates and I on its return.
Personally, I think the ball creates more issues with people solely trying to get their points out and receiving a good grade for the discussion by getting out their points from earlier while waiting just to get the ball. Basically: less disscussing and more focus on just yourself.
However, being high school, some people are scared to speak at an open-fire live debate between screaming factions such as myself (I get too heated at times) and other bold peers. So the ball can also create comfortable speaking environments as well as all ideas being layed out.
IF YOU CAN'T READ: The discussing ball... Should we use it? YES or NO? And WHY?
Nice analysis Nick--you raise some excellent arguments against the ball. I thought our discussion was better today without the ball, so I am prepared to permanently abandon it.
ReplyDelete